Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BBC Glastonbury 2015 sound balance

I was wondering if there are any sound engineers here who can explain why the BBC sound balance was so consistently awful. In most of the bands, the soloists were totally lost. Just tried watching The Who and I'm convinced that the soloists' mikes were switched off!
    Fewer Smart things. More smart people.

Originally posted by Anastasius View Post
    Just tried watching The Who and I'm convinced that the soloists' mikes were switched off!
    It's not all bad news then?

Comment

I'm no sound engineer, but given that the scope for soundchecks at festivals is limited to say the least I'm always surprised it sounds even remotely acceptable. FWIW I thought the 'oo sounded pretty bad, but that was more down to the performance than the sound. But then, isn't that what they were famous for "back in the day" around the time I and many of us were born/listening to Berio? (delete as appropriate).....

Comment

Mr West sounded cr*p
        but it's worth watching to see how to get almost everything contextually wrong in a performance

The Chemical Brothers sounded fantastic BUT given the nature of the music it's a much simpler task than mixing a combination of electric and acoustic sources

Having said that, it's not rocket science and there are plenty of people who DO know how to go about it.

Comment

Being the age I am (!) I only watched Bacharach and I have to agree - dire sound. Having been a studio and live sound engineer (& did Glasto once) I'm aware of the numerous things that can go wrong, but Auntie normally does a fantastic job, often in the face of adversity. Disappointing.

Comment

Originally posted by Lordgeous View Post