Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

France Musique

Hello! A shout out for the fabulous streaming channels on France Musique. I listen to 'Classic Plus' and 'La Baroque'. Their programming is varied and learned, in that they feature many classic recordings of interesting repertoire and new releases. I've discovered so many new performances and new music I find it hard to keep track. Highly recommended if you want a stream of music without interruptions. BBC should consider something similar.

Totally agree about France Musique. I've been listening to Classique Plus for several months, and it's brilliant. The only problem is that there are no announcements, so to follow the schedule, it's necessary to go to their web site (I have an internet radio receiver, and usually listen via that).

This morning, for some reason, they've been doing a mini-festival of British music: Bax Tintagel; Elgar cello concerto; Britten Hymn to St. Cecilia; VW 8 (haven't heard that for ages); Walton violin concerto; VW violin sonata; Britten variations on a theme of Frank Bridge: Bridge phantasie quartet. Radio 3, hang your head in shame!

Comment

........yes a Radio 3 meets Max Headroom compromise would suit me fine 90% of the time (great use of AI)....so how does such a internet outfit without adverts make it's money??
      bong ching

Comment

From Wiki:

The Radio France group is 100% owned by the French State. Nearly 80% of Radio France's funding comes from Television licence, the remaining 20% comes from own resources, mainly from advertising and diversification activities developed by Radio France.

France Musique is part of the Radio France group

Comment

Originally posted by Quarky View Post
          From Wiki: