Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Greetings from Coventry

Hello all, I would just like to introduce myself, and perhaps tell you about my listening habits. I’m a third-year PhD student in Psychology at the University of Warwick (Coventry). I really only developed a taste for classical music at the beginning of the first lockdown, having never really heard much of it before, and perhaps also feeling that I wasn’t the right demographic.

I was flicking through radio stations, and heard a piece I rather enjoyed, and so I stuck with Radio Three for a while. And the rest, as they say, is history. I especially enjoy solo piano (Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt) I know perhaps not everybody loves them, but for me Paul Lewis’s recordings are magical! I have an ever expanding taste in orchestral music, and seemingly also in chamber and the solo violin. I should say also, as is perhaps obvious, I have no formal musical training.

I have Radio Three on for most of the day, with the exception of Radio Four for “Today” and “PM.” I’ve been lurking for a while, and it seems that I am similar to many of you, in not having a particular affinity for Ms Alker. I do love the afternoon and evening concerts, and even the morning “Essential Classics” I hope the latter isn’t too contentious an opinion!